A California Teacher Responds to TIME’s Cover

TIME

This is one part of a series of posts of readers’ responses to this week’s cover.

On Saturday afternoon as I sat in Starbucks with a former student of mine, assisting her with one of her college essays, I kept thinking, “I wish I was still her teacher.” I am no longer this bright young woman’s teacher, however because I was laid off from the high school she currently attends.

Reading TIME’s November 3rd cover story brought me back to that layoff. I was standing in the principal’s office being told I had done a great job while simultaneously being handed a Reduction In Force notice. The same principal later wrote me a glowing recommendation letter. It was clear she wanted to keep me but had been left no choice but to let me go.

For five more years it was more of the same. I worked tirelessly to…

Ver la entrada original 463 palabras más

Responder

